top of page
Writer's picturePhilip Robson

The Purpose of Pain

Updated: Oct 1, 2022


We live in a dispensation in which pain seems to be part of our journey, an era where…the whole creation has been groaning as in the pains of childbirth right up to the present time. (Rom 8:22) Earlier in this chapter in Romans we are told some good news which unfortunately comes with a bit of a price tag: Now if we are children, then we are heirs—heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory. I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us. (Rom 8:17-18) How do we share in Christ’s sufferings? What is there in our present sufferings and pain that will somehow prepare us for our future glory? Is there, therefore some purpose in our pain?


A Painful Experience

I recently went through a painful experience that caused me to ask these kind of questions. I had been having really painful muscular spasms in both my legs. Many prayed for me, but to be honest, my condition didn’t seem to yield to prayer, it only got worse. About two weeks ago as I was carefully getting into the passenger seat of our car, I had the most horrific experience… My right thigh went into such a powerful spasm that it actually snapped my femur right in the middle. I watched horrified as my thigh shortened and my muscles went into the shape of a football. Never in my life have I experienced such pain. I somehow managed to push my leg back into shape and since I was already in the car, my wife rushed me to emergency at the nearest hospital.


Christ's Physical Pain

I won’t go into all the gory and painful details, but it ended up with me needing an operation in which they inserted a pin right down the full length of my femur.* That night as I lay recovering from the operation, I reflected on the sufferings of Christ on the Cross. He endured incredible physical pain. Although none of His bones were broken, it is believed that many of His muscles would have been in a permanent spasm. Psalm 22 is prophetic of Christ’s crucifixion and describes some of the emotional, spiritual and physical torment it involved. The verses I quote below describe His physical pain. I am poured out like water, and all my bones are out of joint. My heart has turned to wax; it has melted away within me. My strength is dried up like a potsherd, and my tongue sticks to the roof of my mouth; you lay me in the dust of death. Dogs have surrounded me; a band of evil men has encircled me, they have pierced my hands and my feet. I can count all my bones; people stare and gloat over me.(Psa 22:14-17)


We Will Also Suffer

The conclusion of many is this: “since Christ suffered physical pain and affliction, I should not have to suffer in this way. After all, He suffered for me!” Tell this to a Ukrainian Christian trapped under the rubble of the latest Russian rocket attack in this senseless war! No, the verses I quoted earlier speak of “sharing in His sufferings”, they talk of “present sufferings”. 2 Co 1:5 speaks of “the sufferings of Christ flowing over into our lives”. The disciples were not immune to persecution, suffering and pain in fact they were proud to have endured it for the sake of the Name. (See Act 5:40-41). John is the only one of the twelve Apostles who may have lived out his full years, although he was held as a prisoner on the Isle of Patmos. According to early church writings and traditions, all the others died martyr’s deaths before their time.


So let’s get back to our original question and ask, “is there any purpose in our suffering pain and affliction?” I believe there is and I will list a few of my thoughts:


Pain produces endurance.

If we do not have the will to push through a bit of pain it says little for our character. …we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. (Rom 5:3-4)


Enduring pain and affliction produces patience.

We have to wait patiently and prayerfully for the season of pain and affliction to pass by learning whatever lessons it holds for us. If we are distressed, it is for your comfort and salvation; if we are comforted, it is for your comfort, which produces in you patient endurance of the same sufferings we suffer. (2Co 1:6) Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer. (Rom 12:12)


Pain and affliction purifies us.

I have found this to be true in my life. There is nothing like a bit of pain and affliction to help one do a bit of healthy introspection. Pain and affliction helped David come to the place of repentance over his sin with Bathsheba. When I kept silent, my bones wasted away through my groaning all day long. For day and night your hand was heavy upon me; my strength was sapped as in the heat of summer. Selah Then I acknowledged my sin to you and did not cover up my iniquity. I said, "I will confess my transgressions to the LORD"— and you forgave the guilt of my sin. Selah (Psa 32:3-5)


Pain often helps us to re-prioritize.

We come to the realization that we are in the predicament we are in because of our own stubbornness and stupidity. We carry burdens of our own making. Jesus said that His yoke is easy and His burden is light. Some became fools through their rebellious ways and suffered affliction because of their iniquities. (Psa 107:17)


Finally, pain prepares us for future glory. Hallelujah!

Now if we are children, then we are heirs—heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory. I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us. (Rom 8:17-18)


After we have endured the sufferings of this life, we will enjoy the glories of heaven in a dispensation where there is no more pain. Won’t this be wonderful! He [God] will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away." (Rev 21:4)


(* I am a three times cancer survivor and I am suffering some of these pains because I have been fighting a bone cancer known as Multiple Myeloma for the past five years. I am the author of a book “Going Against Goliath” (How to fight cancer and win) by Philip Robson).

If you have read this blog you are already on my website. Please feel free to navigate further and take a look around.



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page