top of page
Writer's picturePhilip Robson

More Lessons from Job


The book of Job explores the difficult subject of human suffering and attempts to answer the question of how a just God can permit the righteous to suffer. It is still relevant today because many who have faced calamities, lost a job or a beloved family member, faced financial ruin, been diagnosed with a dread disease, been divorced etc. are asking the same questions Job did. I believe that it is quite alright for us to question God if our motives for doing so are right. As a pastor, many people asked me difficult questions, not because they really wanted answers, but rather because they wished to justify their sinful lifestyles. They would not listen even though I tried to answer them. However, those who truly seek after God will find Him. He says …you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. (Jer 29:12-13)


We saw last week that Job was a righteous man – in fact God even bragged about him to Satan describing him as, “…blameless and upright, a man who fears God and shuns evil.” (Job 1:8). And yet despite all this Job lost his family and everything he owned and finally even his health. Although there is a general principle in Scripture that a person will reap what they sew, it does not always apply. Jesus himself pointed out that disaster is not necessarily a sign of God’s judgment. Or those eighteen who died when the tower in Siloam fell on them—do you think they were more guilty than all the others living in Jerusalem? (Luk 13:4) (He expected his disciples to answer No!) As we read the book of Job we are privileged to have a ‘bird’s eye view’ of what is really taking place. A sinister, malevolent adversary, Satan, is trying to drive a wedge between Job and his God. He is the instrumental cause of Job’s afflictions. We have the benefit of the ‘big picture’, but Job was on the earth punch drunk in his troubles and trying to make some sense of what he was going through.


So last week we looked at how Job’s three friends arrived to sympathize with him and bring him comfort. They sat with him for seven days and nights not saying a word because they saw how great his suffering was. But then they opened their mouths and unfortunately kept harping along these lines… “God sends calamities upon wicked people only. You have suffered a calamity. Therefore, you must be wicked”. Although Job never claims that he is sinless, he nevertheless insists that he is innocent of the transgressions they accuse him of. As their frustration increases at Job’s refusal to admit his sin and ‘repent’, their accusations become even more vicious. They cannot blame God, so they harden their hearts against their former friend and blame Job. “Is not your wickedness great? Are not your sins endless?” says Eliphaz (Job 22:5), and then he proposes some examples of how Job has sinned. You gave no water to the weary and you withheld food from the hungry, (Job 22:7) And you sent widows away empty-handed and broke the strength of the fatherless. (Job 22:9) In Zophar’s last speech he suggests that Job …has oppressed the poor and left them destitute; he has seized houses he did not build. (Job 20:19) etc. etc.


Whilst trying to defend himself against his friends’ charges, Job continues asking God for answers. He wishes to be able to present his case before God and hear what God has to say. But I desire to speak to the Almighty and to argue my case with God, he says (Job 13:3). It’s so interesting to me that in this process of questioning God and seeking answers, Job, a non-Jew stumbles on some amazing revelations about the Almighty. He keeps asking, “how can a mortal be righteous before God?” (Job 9:2) How then can a man be righteous before God? How can one born of woman be pure? (Job 25:4) He seems to clearly understand that he will not be justified by his own efforts, that there will be a need for a mediator, one to cover his sin, one to plead his case. He says, Even now my witness is in heaven; my advocate is on high. My intercessor is my friend as my eyes pour out tears to God; on behalf of a man he pleads with God as a man pleads for his friend. (Job 16:19-21) Here Job seems to have a clear insight into the atonement and the present high priestly ministry of Jesus Christ as our advocate and intercessor before the throne of God.


Job also asks the question, If a man dies, will he live again?... (Job 14:14) Again, he eventually gets a clear revelation of redemption, the second coming of Christ and the future bodily resurrection of believers. In perhaps the most famous passage from the book, Job says, “I know that my Redeemer lives, and that in the end he will stand upon the earth. And after my skin has been destroyed, yet in my flesh I will see God; I myself will see him with my own eyes—I, and not another. How my heart yearns within me! (Job 19:25-27) Job gets these surprising revelations at least a thousand years before the advent of Christ the Redeemer. This says to me that if we are truly seeking after God for answers we will get them and more. They may not come quickly in our first prayer to God or in the well-intentioned counsel of a friend; it might be necessary to ‘wrestle them down’ over time. You don’t find gold on the streets, most often you have to dig deep. Over his period of intense suffering Job did just that, he dug deep and boy did he eventually get some answers!!


Job patiently waits for God’s answers and eventually has a profound first-hand encounter with his Creator. His response to this is telling, he says, “My ears had heard of you but now my eyes have seen you. Therefore, I despise myself and repent in dust and ashes." (Job 42:5-6) God rebukes Job’s friends for misrepresenting Him and tells them to have Job pray for them. (See Job 42:7-9) We then read these wonderful words, After Job had prayed for his friends, the LORD made him prosperous again and gave him twice as much as he had before. (Job 42:10) Job was vindicated, comforted and restored (See Job 42:11-17)


So, dear reader, what am I saying to you today? Well, I’m not offering any easy answers to the problems and challenges you may be facing. It’s not easy understanding the enigma of suffering. (I don’t understand why I’ve had to fight three rounds with different cancers over these past twenty years). Perhaps you are suffering because of your own foolish decisions, perhaps because there is indeed sin in your life that you need to repent of? It may even be as the result of Satanic activity? Jesus said, “The thief comes only in order to steal, kill, and destroy. I have come in order that you might have life---life in all its fullness.” (Joh 10:10 GNB) But, what I am encouraging you to do is to turn toward God not away from Him. Keep pressing into God, He’s the only one with the love and the power to be able to really help you in your time of need. If you do this, your time of trouble will become an opportunity for new growth in your character and greater depth in your revelation and understanding of God.


We are encouraged in Scripture to do the following: Brothers and sisters, as an example of patience in the face of suffering, take the prophets who spoke in the name of the Lord. As you know, we consider blessed those who have persevered. You have heard of Job's perseverance and have seen what the Lord finally brought about. The Lord is full of compassion and mercy. (Jas 5:10-11)


May you come forth from your trial with a faith which is more precious than gold refined by fire! May the LORD restore your health and your fortunes!


I am a three times cancer survivor and the author of the book, “Going Against Goliath: How to fight cancer and win” The book is for sale on a killer special at the moment. If you have read this blog you are already on my website. Please navigate further and find out how to get your copy.

Recent Posts

See All

1件のコメント


vanderburghjackie7
2022年10月15日

Wow!! Thank you for sharing a part of your (extremely painful and very real) journey with us Past Phil. Every word gripped my heart, brought tears to my eyes. Knowing you and Desi as the loving, caring people that you are, makes me even love you both more.

To be very honest, it broke my heart to hear and read about your trials. It sounds so "unfair" that such amazing, faithful children of our loving God, should ever have to go through such hardship and trauma. My human response was one of intense sadness and regret that you and your darling Desi, who have been so faithfully ministering to your flock (of which I was honored and blessed to hav…

いいね!
bottom of page