top of page
Writer's picturePhilip Robson

Lessons from Job


The book of Job is rather difficult to understand and because of this many choose not to pore through its pages and consider the various difficult questions it raises. However, as a three times cancer survivor, the book has taken on a new significance for me and Job’s persistent, yet respectful questioning of God has helped to answer some of my own questions as well. But, before we go any further, let me spend a little time setting the context.


Job was a non-Israelite from the East who probably lived sometime between 2000 and 1000 B.C. He was a very prosperous man who is described by God himself as being, “…blameless and upright, a man who fears God and shuns evil.” (Job 1:8). The accuser, Satan, charges that Job’s godliness is essentially evil and self-serving; that Job is only righteous because it results in blessing. So God allows Satan to test Job within specified limits in order that God and the righteous Job may be vindicated and the great accuser silenced.


Satan’s attacks on Job are vicious and relentless and Job loses nearly everything he has including his health, but he maintains his reverence for God and his integrity. Job’s response to the news of all the terrible calamities that have befallen him and his family is remarkable… At this, Job got up and tore his robe and shaved his head. Then he fell to the ground in worship and said: "Naked I came from my mother's womb, and naked I will depart. The LORD gave and the LORD has taken away; may the name of the LORD be praised." In all this, Job did not sin by charging God with wrongdoing. (Job 1:20-22) In my personal battles with cancer I have been encouraged by Job’s amazing example and have sought to maintain my respect and reverence for God. What sense would there be in me waving my fist in rebellion against the only One who can truly help me in my illness and predicament?


When Job is afflicted with painful sores from head to toe, his wife in her own bitterness of soul, gives vent to her feelings with some ill-conceived advice… His wife said to him, "Are you still holding on to your integrity? Curse God and die!" He replied, "You are talking like a foolish woman. Shall we accept good from God, and not trouble?" In all this, Job did not sin in what he said. (Job 2:9-10) Too many religious folks are actually only in it for what they can get out of it. They ‘flesh out’ Satan’s charge that their godliness is self-serving, and when things become tough they wither like plants which have no root. I have had to ask myself Job’s question many times: “Shall we accept good from God, and not trouble?" Indeed, I have experienced the goodness of God over many years and in many ways, but I’ve also committed myself to holding onto my faith when things get tough ‘come hell or high water’.


Job’s physical and emotional agony is lightened for a while by the arrival of three friends who came to sympathize with him and to comfort him. We tend to be a bit harsh in our judgment of Job’s three counsellors because in the end their advice is shown to be flawed. But, please bear in mind what we read about their approach in Scripture. When they saw him [Job] from a distance, they could hardly recognize him; they began to weep aloud, and they tore their robes and sprinkled dust on their heads. Then they sat on the ground with him for seven days and seven nights. No one said a word to him, because they saw how great his suffering was. (Job 2:12-13) I know it’s not part of our modern day culture, but would we be prepared to do something as radical as tearing our robes, sprinkling dust on our heads and sitting on the ground with a friend for seven days and nights without saying a word?


Many people are at a loss for words when a friend is bereaved or receives bad news like a cancer diagnosis, so they avoid the person altogether – this is a double whammy because it comes at a time when the person most needs comfort and support. So you don’t know what to say? Perhaps it would be good for you to just be there for your friend without needing to say anything. Be like Job’s friends and simply be an incarnational presence for a while. Why not just hug and hold your friend for a bit? Think about it, Jesus was Emmanuel, God with the people of Nazareth and surrounds for something like thirty years before He began to do things and say stuff.


But then some of us are on the other end of the spectrum, we’re goal-centred people who want to get the job done. So we try to sympathize with our friend for about ten minutes before dispensing our wise advice on what will solve their calamity. In taking this approach we tend to minimize the seriousness of the problem and can come across as being very plastic and insensitive.


When it comes to cancer, people tend to have lots of good advice. Some believe that it’s what we eat or don’t eat that causes cancer, so they advocate changes to our diet and the use of all sorts of natural remedies. We are told that the food we buy in supermarkets is full of hormones, toxins and carcinogens. They may even push for the use of alternative remedies instead of reliance on classical medicine. Others believe that it’s stress that causes cancer and so they advise meditation and relaxation techniques. Still others feel that it’s the air that we breathe that is responsible and that pollution of the environment has caused our cancer. Truth be told they are probably all right to a degree because there are many factors that can predispose us to this dread disease not the least hereditary issues in our family bloodline.


There are also precious religious folks who pray for us, tell us “just to have faith” and quote for us their favourite Bible promise. I am always grateful for all the prayer and spiritual support I can get, but I believe I will know in my body when I am healed and that medical tests will confirm that, so I’m not about to stop my treatment program just because someone prayed for me, disappointed though they might be. The woman with the issue of blood said to herself, "If I just touch his [Jesus’] clothes, I will be healed." Immediately her bleeding stopped and she felt in her body that she was freed from her suffering. (Mar 5:28-29) Did you get that? She knew she was healed because she felt something in her body. Always be aware that it is easy to tell someone to ‘just have faith’ when you’re on the outside looking in. When Job’s counsellors were in full cry with their wise advice, Job rebuked them saying, Men at ease have contempt for misfortune as the fate of those whose feet are slipping. (Job 12:5)


Please pardon me – I’ve digressed and spoken a great deal about how we can be sensitive counsellors. The book of Job has so many more lessons for us. I shall have to continue with Lessons from Job next week!


Thanks for reading my blog. I am the author of a book “Going Against Goliath” (How to fight cancer and win). If you have read this blog you are already on my website. Please feel free to navigate further and take a look around.

Comments


bottom of page