top of page
Writer's picturePhilip Robson

DOES GOD HAVE A PLAN FOR MY LIFE?






Today we are asking: “How can I discover the perfect will of God for my life?”

Let me start by stating two foundational things which I believe:

  1. God has a general will that applies to all individuals on earth. (There are things He expects all of us to do/not do).

  2. God has a specific will for your life that may differ from His will for mine.


GOD HAS MADE HIS GENERAL WILL KNOWN THROUGH HIS WORD THE BIBLE

We could say, “His Word is His will and His will is His Word”. From the written Word of God, I see that:

  • It’s the will of God that you and I should love Him. (Mat 22:37)

  • It’s the will of God that you and I should love our neighbour. (Mat 22:39)

  • God is not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance. (2Pe 3:9)

  • God made certain prohibitions known in the 10 Commandments. (Exo 20:1-17)

However, we have to carefully handle the Word of God so that we can rightly divide it. The Apostle Paul encouraged his young disciple Timothy saying, “Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a workman who does not need to be ashamed and who correctly handles the word of truth.” (2Ti 2:15) That says to me that:

  • We need to pay attention to the historical, cultural and literary context of a Scripture we are reading. We can dig all sorts of weird and wonderful doctrines out of the Bible if we ignore the context of the Scriptures we use.

  • We need to do careful “exegesis” (letting the Word speak for itself) and not “eisegesis” (reading into the Word what we would like it to say).

  • First we must understand what the Word was saying “then and there” in its original context before trying to hear what it is saying to us “here and now”.

  • Many state rather haughtily, “I only read the Bible, not other books about the Bible.” But I believe that in our study, we would be arrogant and foolish to ignore 2000 years of careful Christian scholarship.

  • Some of the commandments in the Word are Biblical absolutes (e.g. don’t murder) whilst some are culturally conditioned (e.g. women should cover their heads in worship).

  • Many of the commandments of the Law of Moses regarding dietary restrictions, blood sacrifice etc. have been fulfilled in Jesus. Col 2:14 reads, “…having canceled the written code, with its regulations, that was against us and that stood opposed to us; he [God] took it away, nailing it to the cross.”

  • We must understand the different covenants and pass things “through the Cross” to see if they still apply under the New Covenant. E.g. Dietary restrictions (Mk 7:19), Murder (Mt 5:21) Adultery (Mt 5:27-28), Tithing (Mt 23:23).


JESUS WAS THE WORD MADE FLESH

Joh 1:14 The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us

God spoke more fully and completely through Jesus. Heb 1:1-2 In the past God spoke to our forefathers through the prophets at many times and in various ways, (2) but in these last days he has spoken to us by his Son, whom he appointed heir of all things, and through whom he made the universe.

We could say that Jesus was the will of God in action and demonstration. For example, many feel they are being humble and respectful to end a prayer for healing with the words, “if it be Thy will”, but Jesus made the will of the Father known by healing every sick person ever brought to Him.

When God has revealed things clearly in His Word and Jesus has fleshed them out, we can proceed with faith that they are indeed God’s will.

It is God’s will to save the lost, forgive sinners, to set captives free, heal the sick, protect us, provide for our needs etc. etc.


WHY SHOULD I PURSUE GOD’S WILL?

Let’s read Eph 5:15-17. Be very careful, then, how you live—not as unwise but as wise, (16) making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil. (17) Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the Lord's will is.

If you are foolish you will live carelessly – you will miss many opportunities. Time and life will slip through your fingers and you will likely end up living in ways contrary to the will of God. However, if you are wise, you will engage yourself to try to understand and discover the Lord’s will. You will live your life strategically and productively.


Let’s also read Rom 12:2. Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God's will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.

Thinking goes before doing. If you want to change behaviour you first have to change thinking. The world thinks in certain ways shaped by its pride, rebellion, selfish ambition and independence. I must wash out of my mind the world’s way of thinking and renew my thoughts to think God’s thoughts, then I can begin to discover the will of God. There’s a whole lot of faulty thinking out there. 2Co 10:5 We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.


If I simply follow my nose and do whatever comes my way, I might miss the will of God completely. How sad that will be especially since God has amazing things planned and prepared for me! 1Co 2:9-10 However, as it is written: "No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind has conceived what God has prepared for those who love him"— (10) but God has revealed it to us by his Spirit. The Spirit searches all things, even the deep things of God.


DOES GOD HAVE A SPECIFIC WILL FOR ME?

God is a loving Father, a good God – I believe He has good plans for me and for you. Jer 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you," declares the LORD, "plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

He does indeed have a plan, a blueprint that I must discover. Psa 139:16-17 …your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be. (17) How precious to me are your thoughts, O God! How vast is the sum of them! We must, as it were, ‘peep over God’s shoulder to see what He has written in His book for us’. Eph 2:10 For we are God's workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.


I can’t choose a destiny for myself and decide for instance that I want to be a healing evangelist – no, I must wrestle it down in prayer and through daily obedience. Destiny unfolds one day at a time. Some are too passive believing ‘what will be will be’, others are hyperactive, feverishly trying to make things happen.


I have to surrender my will to the will of God. This will involve consecration and self-sacrifice. Luk 9:23 Then he [Jesus] said to them all: "If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me…”


Gifts tests and personality profiles can give an indication of what our purpose might be and where our gifting might lie, but must not be followed over zealously. More importantly, the Holy Spirit wants to reveal to us the specific will of God to us. 1Co 2:9-10 …as it is written: "No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind has conceived what God has prepared for those who love him"— (10) but God has revealed it to us by his Spirit. The Spirit searches all things, even the deep things of God.


God has many ways and means of speaking to us. E.g. Through a still small voice, an audible voice, Scripture verse, godly counsel, prophecy, vision, dream, angel, circumstances, prompting, word of knowledge etc. We learn to know the voice of God by walking in relationship with Him Joh 10:27 My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. Rom 8:14 …those who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God.


CLOSING THOUGHT

I trust that you have found my counsel helpful and pray that you are inspired to pursue God’s perfect will for your life.

Comentários


bottom of page