top of page
Writer's picturePhilip Robson

Are There Rewards in Heaven?


Once upon a time I was at a mixed gathering of pastors, ministers and priests from different denominational backgrounds. I happened to broach the subject of rewards in heaven to which there was a sharp, angry response from a couple of ministers. I tried to defend my position by quoting scriptures, but they were not willing to reason with me or even listen to me. As I returned to my home, I wondered what lay behind the heated response I had received. Perhaps it was because Jesus almost seems to contradict himself in two parables!?


In Matt 20:1-16 we read The Parable of the Workers in the Vineyard. (My friends at the pastor’s fraternal probably had this parable in mind when they reacted to my comments on rewards). The landowner hires labourers to work in his vineyard early in the morning, at the third hour, the sixth hour, the ninth hour and even the eleventh hour, but then pays them all a denarius (which was the accepted day’s wage at the time). Those hired first grumble against the landowner saying, "These men who were hired last worked only one hour,' they said, 'and you have made them equal to us who have borne the burden of the work and the heat of the day.' (Mat 20:12) The landowner counters their argument saying, 'Friend, I am not being unfair to you. Didn't you agree to work for a denarius? Take your pay and go. I want to give the man who was hired last the same as I gave you. Don't I have the right to do what I want with my own money? Or are you envious because I am generous?' (Mat 20:13-15)


To me the parable conveys the following truths:

– A denarius represents the gift of eternal life.

– Eternal life is a gift freely given, not earned. Salvation is not by works.

– The work of the individual did not influence the graciousness of the giver in bestowing the gift of eternal life.

– Those who receive salvation through Jesus Christ will be treated equally in that they will all receive the gift of eternal life.


But now we get to a seemingly contradictory parable. In Matt 25:14-30 we find The Parable of the Talents. "Again, it will be like a man going on a journey, who called his servants and entrusted his property to them. To one he gave five talents of money, to another two talents, and to another one talent, each according to his ability. Then he went on his journey. (Mat 25:14-15) We know from the story that the man given the five talents produced five more, the one given two produced two more. These two were commended and rewarded by their master on his return. However, the one given only one talent buried his talent because he somehow had a distorted perception of his master. He was labelled ‘a wicked, lazy servant’.


Here’s a summary of what I believe this parable says:

– On the surface Jesus may appear to be teaching salvation by works.

– However, the point of parable is this: There is a future day of reckoning or giving account when Christ returns.

– The first two had genuine faith that issued forth in works. They were rewarded specifically for their labour AND also received the gift of eternal life.

– The third individual had a distorted view of God, produced no fruit and received no reward.


Our conclusion from these two parables:

– Salvation is by grace through faith and not by works. For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God—not by works, so that no one can boast. (Eph 2:8-9)

– Those who truly believe in Jesus will be changed. Their lives will issue forth in good works. For we are God's workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do. (Eph 2:10)

– We will be rewarded individually and specifically for what we have done. For the Son of Man is going to come in his Father's glory with his angels, and then he will reward each person according to what he has done. (Mat 16:27)


How Will We Be Rewarded?

Scripture speaks in various places of prizes and crowns. Our crowns will last forever. Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last; but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. (1Co 9:25)

But what are these crowns? 2 Ti 4:8 speaks of the Crown of Righteousness that those who are longing for Christ’s coming will receive. Jas 1:12 & Rev 2:10 – speak of a Crown of Life for those who persevere under trial. 1 Pet 5:4 Speaks of the Crown of Glory for faithful shepherds of God’s flock.


How Will We Respond?

I believe that the only fitting response from those who are rewarded will be to emulate the twenty-four elders and to cast our crowns before the Lord in worship. …the twenty-four elders fall down before him who sits on the throne, and worship him who lives for ever and ever. They lay their crowns before the throne and say: "You are worthy, our Lord and God, to receive glory and honor and power, for you created all things, and by your will they were created and have their being." (Rev 4:10-11)

Even if we have worked very hard for the cause of the Kingdom, we will say like Paul, “...by the grace of God I am what I am, and his grace to me was not without effect. No, I worked harder than all of them—yet not I, but the grace of God that was with me.” (1Co 15:10)

Far from being disgruntled by the idea of rewards, as my colleagues at the pastor’s meeting were, I am quite excited and motivated by the idea. We do not work conscientiously because there is a reward, but because of our love for God and His people. The fact that there are rewards is an encouraging by-product. In your labour of love remember this, God is not unjust; he will not forget your work and the love you have shown him as you have helped his people and continue to help them.” (Heb 6:10)

Comments


bottom of page